My Gay Marriage Pet Peeve

I have a head cold, so bear with me …

Gay marriage is legal.  Right now.  A same-sex couple can stand before a clergyman in any state of the union, right now, and exchange vows.  Same-sex couples have been getting married for a long damn time.  At least since Robert Downey, Jr.’s character got married in the movie Home for the Holidays, and Felicity aired the marriage of Javier and Samuel.  Probably long before that, but I haven’t boned up on my gay history of gay marriage.

The issue is legal recognition of same-sex marriage.  Filing joint tax returns, estate planning, and unromantic legal shit like that.

Unromantic legal shit like that.  

It seems like something that shouldn’t be an issue under a secular government dedicated to the self-evident truth that all men are created equal.  (Of course, prohibitionists felt the same way about ending slavery, and that battle for equality took 620,000 lives before it was won.)

Anyway … that’s my pet peeve.

Leave a comment